Skip to main content
The Ruby is a catalyst for creativity and a home for making art at Duke.
Date & Time
June 1, 2018August 10, 2018
Free; drop-ins welcome. Building hours
Gallery 235 at the Rubenstein Arts Center
2020 Campus Dr
Durham, NC 27705

Art and science have a lot of things in common, yet people don’t always see it that way. Scientists often spend hours taking and editing beautiful images and videos to help describe their research, however, members of the public rarely get to see these works. This exhibit, organized by graduate student members of Duke INSPIRE, aims to bring the creativity of art and science together for a wide audience. Scientists will either present original works or they will be paired with artists. Participating artists will create their own interpretations, in whatever media they choose, of a piece of work their partner-scientist thinks truly captures their research. Our efforts will culminate at this opening event, where artists and scientists will join forces to present their pieces.

Duke INSPIRE is composed of Duke Biomedical Predoctoral Candidates and Graduate Students from diverse backgrounds and disciplines. INSPIRE is dedicated to the enrichment of PhD education and discussion of leading-edge scientific technique with great potential positive impact to society. With over 60 members across 13 different departments, Duke INSPIRE is growing and actively engaged in scientific discourse within the Duke Community, Durham, and beyond, with the goal of enhancing the impact of scientific advancement.

Save the date for Family Days on Saturdays, June 9, June 23, and July 14 and for an interactive panel discussion on Saturday, August 4!

Participating scientists:

Ceri Weber
Larisa Gearhart
Wout Salenbien
Julia Notar
Phillip Turner
Corey Bunce
John Malik
Jessica Brandt
Qun Wang
Jonnathan Singh Alvarado
Megan Kondash
Graden Froese
Matthew Zipple
Karla Sosa
Ansel Oommen
Orsola Capovilla-Searle
Angelo Moreno
Ted Espenschied
Will Barclay
Anna Wade
Ian Turnage-Butterbaugh

Participating artists:

Teddy Devereux
Tamara Bagnell
Jeff Chelf
Carson Whitmore
Ingrid Erickson
Ramya Kapadia
Molly Cassidy
Jim Lee
Juan Scivally
Erica Hamilton
Christian Infinito
Yiou Wang

Supported by

Tune into events & opportunities!

Sign up for our newsletter