Skip to main content
The Ruby is a catalyst for creativity and a home for making art at Duke.
Date & Time
Friday, May 12 at 5:30 pm8:00 pm
Ruby Lounge at the Rubenstein Arts Center
2020 Campus Drive
Durham, NC 27705 United States

Click here to watch the Duke Arts 2023 Student Awards Ceremony stream!



Louis Sudler Prize

Nathaniel Maxwell


Art, Art History & Visual Studies

The Mary Duke Biddle Foundation Visual Art Award: Nia Williams

The Nancy Kaneb Art History Award: Caroline Rettig

The Sue and Lee Noel Prize in the Visual Arts: Morgan Patton and Isabella Bann

The Visual & Media Studies Award: Ayesham Khan and Jingye Zhang

Cinematic Arts Outstanding Filmmaker Award: William Julien

The Rodger Frey Film Essay Award: Tessa Delgo


Creative Writing

George P. Lucaci Award for Creative Nonfiction: First prize: Maggie Wolfe, second prize: Haoning Jiang and Nima Babajani-Feremi

Anne Flexner Memorial Award for Poetry: Dylan Haston and Lauren Garbett

Anne Flexner Memorial Award for Fiction: Camden Chin

The Margaret Rose Knight Sanford Scholarship: Miranda Gershoni

Reynolds Price Award for Fiction: Emma Huang

Academy of American Poets Prize: Tyler King and Laura Boyle (Honorable Mention)

Terry Welby Tyler, Jr Award for Poetry: Tina Xia and Marina Chen



The Julia Wray Memorial Dance Award: Joey Rauch

The Clay Taliaferro Dance Award: Alyssa Shi

The Dance Writing Award: Sierra Putney and Nicole Schwartz



The Ann Marie Parsons Memorial Prize: Mauro Mastrapasqua

The William Klenz Prize in Music Composition: Ethan Foote

The Julia Wilkinson Mueller Prize for Excellence in Music: Nathaniel Maxwell and Francesca Herrera

The Henry Schumann Music Prize: Nathaniel Maxwell, Honorable Mentions: Courtney Dantzler, and Adam Kosinski

The Paul R. Bryan Award : David Johnston, Isabella Larsen, and Meghan Merenich

The Ciompi Quartet Award in Chamber Music: Dylan Cai, Jacob Liu, David Li, Jacob Egol, Preston Bowman, Bill Guo, Eddie Chen, Joie Jamison, and Lauren Simmons

Duke Symphony Orchestra Conductor’s Award: Jacob Egol, CJ Tyson, Sabrina Camacho, and Emma Lofgren


Theater Studies

Harold Brody Award for Excellence in Musical Theater: Blaze Gambla and Anna Shenk-Evans

John M. Clum Distinguished Theater Studies Graduate Award: Tia Smith

Alex Cohen Award: Anastacia Pogodina

Feldman Collaborator’s Award in Memory of Kenneth J. Reardon: Tia Smith

Forlines Family Theater Studies Grant: Elaine Guo

Reynolds Price Award: Johnathan Brown for his play Euphoria

The Dale B.J. Randall Award in Dramatic Literature: Tia Smith

Award for Excellence in Design or Theater Technology: Ivy Sun

Kevin Gray Musical Theater Award: Isa Mellody

Tune into events & opportunities!

Sign up for our newsletter